Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: MN

New state FFA officers elected at state convention

Individuals and chapters were recognized for their efforts.

The final day of the 93rd Minnesota FFA Convention saw a new slate of state officers installed to lead the state organization.

Elected to positions are FFA President Emma Kuball, Waterville-Elysian-Morristown FFA chapter; vice president, Natalie Beckendorf, Renville County West FFA; secretary, Makenzie Alberts, Pine Island FFA; treasurer, Brynn Lozinski, McCray FFA; reporter, Caidyn Johnson, Fertile-Beltrami FFA; and sentinel, Noah Erickson, Morris Area FFA.

Among the team’s responsibilities in the coming year are the planning of FFA leadership events and the 2023 Minnesota FFA convention.

Gopher football coach offers keynote

P.J. Fleck, head football coach at the University of Minnesota, offered the keynote address on the last day, April 26, encouraging FFA members to have a “massive vision” for their lives.

“Create the biggest dream for yourself that you possibly can,” Fleck said, then referring to his popular mantra and the name of his recent book, “Row the Boat.” “As FFA members, you are the future leaders of America. Being a leader comes with an incredible amount of responsibility. ‘Row the Boat’ is meant to be a never-give-up lifestyle. How will you row together as FFA to create a brighter future?”

Outstanding students recognized 

Finalists in Career Development and Leadership Development Events were celebrated April 26 and the first place winners were announced.

First-place winners in agriscience in the area of Power, Structural and Technical Systems were: Braden Hansen, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg; Colton Noble and Joshua Jones, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg; Olivia Noble, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg; and Morgan Langenburg, Chatfield.

First-place winners in the top Supervised Agricultural Experience (SAE) projects in the Power, Structural and Technical Systems Pathway were:

  •  Agricultural Mechanics Design and Fabrication. Jayson Delfs, Edgerton, sponsored by John Deere
  •  Agricultural Mechanics Repair and Maintenance Entrepreneurship. Gina Huhnerkoch, Redwood Valley, sponsored by NAPA
  •  Agricultural Mechanics Repair and Maintenance Placement. Caleb Besmehn, Glencoe-Silver Lake

First place Agriscience winners in the area of Environmental Service and Natural Resource Systems were: Jacques Anderson, the Academy for Sciences and Agriculture; Carson Sawatzky and Jacob Lehne, Kerkhoven-Murdock-Sunburg; Reid Ellis-Cramer, the Academy for Sciences and Agriculture; and Erin Devaney, the Academy for Sciences and Agriculture.

First place Environmental Science and Natural Resources proficiency winners and their FFA chapters were:

  • Environmental Science and Natural Resources Management. Maloree Gartner, Maple River, sponsored by Johnson Outdoors
  • Forest Management and Products. Dylan Heiderscheidt, Medford, sponsored by Vermeer Sales and Services
  • Outdoor Recreation. Lilly Neubauer, United South Central, sponsored by the Minnesota FFA Foundation
  • Wildlife Production and Management. Katherine Miller, Stillwater, sponsored by George and Mary Peichel.

The 2022 first place proficiency winners in the Agribusiness Systems pathway were:

  • Agricultural Communications. Morgan Hoffmann, Sleepy Eye, sponsored by The Farmer
  • Agricultural Education. Ella Fuhr, Redwood Valley, sponsored by the Jim Ertl Fund
  • Agricultural Processing. Lydia Rylaarsdam, Edgerton, sponsored by the CHS Foundation
  • Agricultural Sales Entrepreneurship. Jana Johnson, Mankato, sponsored by Bremer Bank
  • Agricultural Sales Placement. Matthew Schell, Lewiston-Altura, sponsored by Peterson Farms Seed
  • Agricultural Services. Kole Wenner, Maple River, sponsored by Rosen's Diversified
  • Food Service. Kaitlyn Mathies, Eden Valley-Watkins, sponsored by McDonald’s
  • Service Learning. Eric Gunderson, Grand Rapids, sponsored by Minnesota BioFuels Association.

Staples-Motley FFA wins Premier Chapter award

Eighteen chapters from Minnesota received gold rankings for their National Chapter award applications. The Minnesota state finalists for the top-ranking chapter were: Staples-Motley, Sleepy Eye and Chatfield. Staples-Motley FFA was awarded the 2022 Premier Chapter and was also honored earlier in the day with the Agricultural Literacy award, supported by Minnesota Ag in the Classroom.

Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted receives Land of Service award

The Minnesota FFA Land of Service award is annually awarded to the chapter with outstanding volunteer service. The winner is determined by calculating the economic impact of every hour volunteered. This year, Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted Chapter members contributed the equivalent of $96,179.80 to their local community.

Source: Minnesota FFA, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all of its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.


TAGS: Farm Life 4H
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.