Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: IN

Nominate an Indiana Prairie Farmer Master Farmer

Tom J. BechmanJim Mintert, Jim Droege, Jim Gillooly, Max Beer and David Sommer

Jim Mintert (at podium) asks the 2020 Indiana Master Farmers several questions during a special panel. They are Jim Droege (left), Jim Gillooly, Max Beer and David Sommer.


A selection of outstanding Hoosier farmers and their families will be honored in 2022. Maybe one of them lives and farms near you! Unless you nominate them, we may never know, and a deserving individual and family will go unnoticed for what they do.

Master Farmer nominations are due (postmarked) to Indiana Prairie Farmer by Feb. 15, 2022. Click on the links below for entry forms.

Indiana Prairie Farmer Master Farmer - Acrobat Version

If you have questions, call 317-431-8766 or e-mail

Master Farmers Who Have Already Earned The Award

We often get asked who has won the award. Here's a list since 1968. Those who are deceased are marked with an asterisk. If you know someone on the list who is deceased and not marked, please let us know at 317-431-8766 or

1968: Mark Anson, Guy Beerbower*, George Corya, Richard Craig, Ernest Miller*, William Nash*, Kenneth Perkins*, James Scherschel, Gerald Tarnow, Philip Warner*

1969: Ellsworth Biesecker, Walter Carter*, Robert Gross, Robert Harper*, Glen Lightfoot, Byron Nixon, Jr., Robert Williams

1970: Norman Becher, William Cable*, Paul Canary*, Orville Chamberlain, Virgil Gerhardt*, Carl Johanningsmeier, John McCormick*

1971: Lloyd Clayton*, Morris Hoar, Erland Rothenberger*, William Rothenberger*, James Shilling, Richard Ward*

1972: Francis Beck*, Sherman Kessler*, Henry Nieman, Russell Norris*, Dwight Smoker*

1973: Kenneth T. Caldwell, H. Roland Moesner*, Carroll L. Thompson*, Paul G. Thurston*, Samuel H. Washburn

1974: Roy Elliott, Cecil Madill*, Lincoln Priebe*, John Rodibaugh, Gilman Stewart,*, John Stewart

1975: Max Foster*, Donald Green, Marvin Mann*, Victor Sprong, Ellis McFadden

1976: John Keithley, Ralph Kennedy, Gilbert H. Schmidt*,  David C. Salomon, Cecil P. Westerhouse*

1977: Marjorie Colglazier*, Kenneth Culp, Robert Morgan, Harold L. Myers, Maurice B. Woodward

1978: William Congleton, Frank C. Forster*, John V. Maloney*, George w. Pickering*, Jerry D. Roberts

1979: Lawrence (Sonny) Beck, Donald W. Brown*, Roger F. Doerstler*, Thomas E. Howell*, Jack W. Torr*

1980: Lloyd A. Arthur*, Charles A. Kirlin, O. William Mann*, Thomas E. Murray, Raymond E. Musselman*

1981: O.T. (Ted) Blank, Gary Clark, Arthur Colbert*, Burch R. Harlan, Ralph E. Mautz

1982: Beryl (Jake) Grimme, Sylvan W. Ice, Robert G. Persinger, Dale Smith, Donald H. Strietelmeier

1983: William Howard Adler*, Phil Boring, Tom Simons, Bill Smiley, Howard E. Springer

1984: Pete Clark, John Hardin, Jr., Jim Martin*, Philip A. Maxwell*, Harold Wilson*

1985: Herman Bullard*, C. Ray Lamb, Warren Harlan*, Richard L. Welty, Don Villwock

1986: Fred O. Mann, Joe Rund, Robert Stickles, Charles F. Walker

1987: Leroy Brammer, William T. Crane*, Robert Foltz, Bill and Kaye Whitehead

1988: Harry T. Armstrong*, Robert Ward Johnson*, Carl Martin, Larry J. Pumphrey

1989: Homer C. McDonald, Steve Sickafoose, Wayne Townsend, J. Olen Yoder

1990: Tom Boyd, Merrill Kelsay, James Moseley, William Pickart

1991: Dave and Ron Johnson, Paul Keffaber*, Wally Linneweber, Larry Stoy

1992: Raymond Becher, Alan Kemper, Howard Unger, Fred and Linda Wise

1993: Gene Brune, Wayne McCutchan, James Pettigrew, Jerry Rulon

1994: Scott Fritz, Don Jones*, George Likens, Herbert Likens, Bob Mills

1995: James Reed, Donald Rettinger, Herman Rettinger, Roland Seller, Brad Starr

1996: Paul Brocksmith*, Donald Gurtner, Kenneth Phares, James Smoker

1997: William W. Erwin, George W. Krom III, Donald E. Morehouse, Thomas Roney

1998: James Bell, Greg Graham, Hubert McGaughey, Joe Vieck

1999: Dayton Merrell, Myron Moyer, John A. Norton, Paul D. Smith

2000: L. David Allyn, Joe Huber*, David A, Minich, Joseph M. Russell

2001: Dennis Carnahan, Kendall Culp, Lynn Stockwell, Norman Voyles, Sr.

2002: Kenneth L. Ames, Mike Beard, Dave Buck (Milroy)*, Dave Forgey

2003: David A. Buck (Lafayette)*, Bruce Moody, Richard (Dick) Nash, David Williamson

2004: Mike Brocksmith, Wilber Hoeing, Bert Holsapple*, Clark Sennett

2005: Roger Hadley II, Robert Mann, Joe Peden, Ed Yanos

2006: Jim Culp, Mark Legan, Gary Reding, Mark Townsend

2007: Scott Beck, Bruce Buchanan, Jim Douglas, Davids Miers

2008: Robert Bishop, Thomas Johnson, Jim Lankford, Rory Walker

2009: Rodney Hager, Chris Mann, Maurice Robeson, R. Duane Wolheter

2010: Keith Berry, David and Mary Howell, Ray McCormick, Mike Shuter

2011: Jim Day, Bill Schroeder (Knox County), Loran Wilson, John Zupancic

2012: Keith Ames, Kim Ames, Kerry Ames, Ed Carmichael, Gene Schmidt, Bill Schroeder (White County)

2013: Kevin Cox, David Ring, Ken and Jane Rulon, Del and Tammi Unger

2014: Jack and Rita Maloney, Carl and Diane Schmitz, David and Danita Rodibaugh, Mike and Karen Starkey

2015: Mike Flock, Mike and Jan Heckaman, Terry and Susan Hayhurst, Richard and Carol Kohlhagen

2016: Dan Gwin, Tom and Karen McKinney, John and Nan Nidlinger, Don and Dfarci Zolman

2017: Denny Bell, John and Krsiti Ktretzmeier, Larry Holscher, Stan Poe

2018: Barry Bishop , Jim Farris, Carl and Sally Swinford, Mark and Christinee York

2019: Richard Law, Roger and Mary Beth Wenning, David Lee, Ronnie and Susan Mohr

2020: Max and Karen Beer, Jim and Carol Jo Droege, Jim and Jane Gilloolly, David and Gloria Sommer

2021: Harry Egnew, Randy and Joyce Kron, Cara and Cameron Mills, Craig and Kim Williams

Honorary Master Farmers: Hobe Jones, Mauri Williamson, Howard Doster, Max Armstrong, David Petritz, Tom Turpin, Bruce McKenzie, Tom Bauman, Wayne Dillman, Fred Whitford, Bill Field, Chris Hurt, Bret Marsh, Lonnie Mason, Carl Eiche, Mark Sigler, Robert Nielsen, Ted, Jean, Terry and Nieta Merrell