Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Nominate a 2021 Master Agriculturist

Farm Progress A red farmstead surrounded fields
RICH HISTORY: The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 90 years to 1930, when Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.
The deadline for nominations is March 5.

In 2021, Wisconsin Agriculturist will again honor Wisconsin farmers who have demonstrated outstanding farm management skills while also taking active leadership roles in their communities.

The Master Agriculturist awards are made to honor not only the selected individuals but also their families.

The 2020 Master Agriculturists are Charles, George, Tom and Mark Crave of Waterloo; Kent Wendorf of Viroqua; Jeff Hendrickson of Belleville; and Eric Rygg of Eau Claire.

The Master Agriculturist program has a rich history dating back 90 years to 1930, when the magazine first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers.

“Historically, we have honored the best of the best,” says Willie Vogt, executive director of content and user engagement for Wisconsin Agriculturist and Farm Progress. “We know there are Master Agriculturists in every county in Wisconsin. We just need someone to nominate them.”

Wisconsin Agriculturist is looking for the cream of the crop. This is a wonderful opportunity to recognize farmers who have excelled and can serve as an inspiration to others.

“Honoring Master Agriculturists is a great tradition for Farm Progress,” Vogt says. “Historically, these agricultural leaders in the community have also been innovators for a wide range of technologies. We’re looking forward to a long future honoring the state’s best and brightest.”

To have a nomination form mailed or emailed to you, call the Wisconsin Agriculturist editorial office at 920-346-2285, or send an email to

Deadline is March 5

Nominations must be postmarked by March 5. Letters of recommendation help strengthen the nomination and should be included. Agronomists, county Extension ag agents, nutritionists, veterinarians, neighbors and clergy members are good sources to request to write a letter of recommendation. Winners will be selected and notified by mail in March.

Due to the coronavirus, the luncheon honoring the 2020 winners was postponed. The 2021 winners will be selected by a committee of industry leaders and honored along with the 2020 Master Agriculturists at a banquet next summer at La Sure’s Banquet Hall in Oshkosh, Wis. Winners also will be featured in the Wisconsin Agriculturist. Past winners, friends, relatives and agribusinesses that do business with the winners will be invited to attend the Master Agriculturist awards program and luncheon. As the uncertainty created by the coronavirus minimizes next spring, we will announce a date and details for the awards program in Oshkosh.

Take a few minutes and nominate somebody you believe should receive the award. Nomination forms and letters of recommendation should be returned to: Wisconsin Agriculturist, P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919, or emailed to

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.