Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: WI

Top Wisconsin farmers honored in Oshkosh

Harlen Persinger 2020 and 2021 Wisconsin Master Agriculturists holding plaques
2020 AND 2021 MASTERS: Earning the Master Agriculturist honor this year are Wisconsin farmers (back left) Brian Brown, Belleville; John Judd, Mount Horeb; Brian Forrest, Stratford; and Jack Herricks, Cashton. The 2020 Master Agriculturists are (front left) Jeff Hendrickson, Belleville; Eric Rygg, Eau Claire; Kent Wendorf, Viroqua; and Charlie Crave, Waterloo. Missing from the photo are George, Tom and Mark Crave of Waterloo.
The 2020 and 2021 Master Agriculturist Awards Program was held Aug. 11.

The Wisconsin Agriculturist — in partnership with Growmark FS; Twohig, Rietbrock, Schneider and Halbach S.C. of Chilton; and Compeer Financial — presented the 2020 and 2021 Master Agriculturist awards to top achievers in farming, community service and leadership.

Recipients of the 2020 award are Kent Wendorf, Viroqua; Jeff Hendrickson, Belleville; Eric Rygg, Eau Claire; and Charlie, George, Tom and Mark Crave, Waterloo.

The 2021 award recipients are Brian Brown, Belleville; Jack Herricks, Cashton; Brian Forrest, Stratford; and John Judd, Mount Horeb.

The farmers were honored on Aug. 11 at La Sure’s Hall in Oshkosh, Wis. The winners were selected for their proven ability and accomplishments as progressive farmers, as well as for the time, effort and leadership they contribute to community, church and agricultural organizations.

Author and professor Jackie Dougan Jackson, a native of Beloit, was the keynote speaker. She spoke about her experiences growing up on a dairy farm in Beloit and hosting Wisconsin Farm Progress Days at her family’s farm in 1961. Attorney George Twohig also spoke about the importance of farming and family. There were more than 100 guests in attendance.

The Master Agriculturist award is given to honor not only the selected individuals, but also their families.

The Master Agriculturist program is the oldest farm awards program in the state, and is one of the longest-running career-achievement honors programs in U.S. agriculture. The award dates to 1930, when Wisconsin Agriculturist first started honoring top Wisconsin farmers for their hard work, dedication, success in farming and exemplary leadership.

Nomination forms are already available for the 2022 awards. To obtain a form, call 920-346-2285, email, or write to: Master Agriculturist, Wisconsin Agriculturist, 112 S. Prairie St., P.O. Box 236, Brandon, WI 53919. The deadline for nominations for the 2022 awards is Dec. 6.

Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.