Farm Progress is part of the Informa Markets Division of Informa PLC

This site is operated by a business or businesses owned by Informa PLC and all copyright resides with them. Informa PLC's registered office is 5 Howick Place, London SW1P 1WG. Registered in England and Wales. Number 8860726.

Serving: OH

Ohio cattlemen develop policy, dole out awards

John Grimes was honored with the Industry Excellence Award.

From policy issues and industry updates to awards and social networking, the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association’s Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet on Jan. 8 provided a day focused on the beef industry.

Ethan Lane, vice president of government affairs for the National Cattlemen’s Beef Association, joined members for lunch to give an update on policy issues and happenings in Washington, D.C., on behalf of beef producers.

Lane spoke about President Joe Biden’s newly announced American Rescue Plan, product of the USA labeling, labor shortages, price disparity in the marketplace, Waters of the U.S. and more.

Members also received updates from industry partners, including an overview of the newly planned Ohio State University Waterman Multispecies Learning Center; information on the OSU Extension Beef Team’s upcoming programming from Steve Boyles, Extension beef specialist; and a legislative outlook for 2022 from Tony Seegers, president of 1803 Consulting.


The Ohio Cattlemen’s Foundation also held its annual meeting to award 24 scholarships to beef industry youth who aspire to pursue careers in the beef industry. The 2021 scholarship recipients include:

Cattlemen’s Gala scholarships. Hannah Cochran, Franklin County; Megan Garrison, Belmont County; Kiley Holbrook, Fairfield County; Luke Jennings, Clermont County; Ellie Kidwell, Knox County; Meredith Oglesby, Highland County; Libby Strine, Marion County; Chloee Thomas, Miami County; Abigail Tooill, Fairfield County; Victoria Waits, Fayette County; Quinton Waits, Fayette County; and Katelynn Wallace, Miami County.

Tagged for Greatness scholarships. Josh Dickson, Licking County; Makayla Feldner, Noble County; Sydney Kleman, Putnam County; and Autumn Scheiderer, Madison County.

Cattlemen’s Country Club scholarships. Brandon Barr, Greene County; Owen Brinker, Wood County; Lana Grover, Highland County; and Maria Mcintosh, Champaign County.

Noah Cox Memorial Scholarship. Erin Pope, Gallia County.

Saltwell Expo scholarships: Shala Graham, Licking County; and Luke Mckee, Knox County.

Cattlewomen’s Association scholarships. Caitlin Koschnick, Crawford County; and Shelby Morehead, Portage County.


The awards banquet celebrated the achievements of fellow cattlemen, including:

Outstanding County. Fayette County Cattle Feeders Association; sponsored by Ohio Corn and Wheat.

Environmental Stewardship Award. Rick, Kyle and Brett Kisling of Diven Springs Farm, Hillsboro, Ohio; sponsored by the Ohio Beef Council.

Young Cattleman of the Year. Zane Gross of Buckeye Creek Angus, Ashland, Ohio; sponsored by E.R. Boliantz Co.

Commercial Cattleman of the Year. Ben, Daniel and Richard Seibert of Seibert Livestock, St. Marys, Ohio; sponsored by United Producers Inc.

Seedstock Producer of the Year. Jones Show Cattle, Harrod, Ohio; sponsored by BioZyme, Inc. and Umbarger Show Feeds.

Industry Service Award. Todd Pugh, Louisville, Ohio; sponsored by Rowe Nutrition LLC.

Industry Excellence Award. John Grimes, Hillsboro, Ohio, sponsored by ST Genetics.

To learn more about OCA’s award winners or the annual meeting, visit

Source: OCA, which is solely responsible for the information provided and is wholly owned by the source. Informa Business Media and all its subsidiaries are not responsible for any of the content contained in this information asset.
TAGS: Livestock
Hide comments


  • Allowed HTML tags: <em> <strong> <blockquote> <br> <p>

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.